left Heydar Aliyev Museum right
left right
left Menu right
left right
    Az     En     Ru




Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic


Sadarak region
Sharur region
Shahbuz region
Kangarli region
Babak region
Julfa region
Nakhchivan city
Ordubad region
Babak region
Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic


Official name: Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic
Date of establishment:

9 February 1924

Capital: Nakhchivan city
Territory: 5502,75 km2
National language: The Azerbaijan language
Currency: Manat
Population (by 1000 persons): 444,4 (01.01.2016)
National structure: 99,6% Azerbaijanis
Density of population in 1 km2(by person): 81
Village population (by one thousand persons):


City population (by one thousand persons):  



         It was constituted of the capital city Nakhchivan and 7 administrative regions-Sharur, Babak, Ordubad, Julfa, Kangarli, Shahbuz, Sadarak. There are 5 cities (Nakhchivan, Ordubad, Julfa, Sharur and Shahbuz), 8 settlements, 205 villages. 

         Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic was given the status of the autonomous state within the Azerbaijan Republic according to the Constitution of the Azerbaijan Republic worked out by special constitutional commission under the chairmanship of Heydar Aliyev, national leader of the Azerbaijan people and received on November 12, 1995 by referendum. 

         The supreme legislative power is the Supreme Majlis of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic (consists of 45 deputies). According to the Constitutions of the Azerbaijan Republic and Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic the Chairman of the Supreme Majlis of the autonomous republic is a supreme official. 

         The cabinet of ministers executes the executive power but court power is executed by the courts of the autonomous republic.   

         In the session passed under the chairmanship of Heydar Aliyev, national leader, on 17 November 1990 the words “Soviet Socialist” were taken out from the official name of the autonomous republic and the name of the legislative power was changed and named the Supreme Majlis, firstly the flag of the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic (1918-1920) was received the state flag of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic. 

         Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic borders on Armenia (the length of the border line is 246 km), Turkey (11 km) and Iran (204 km).

         By the help of the strongest Armenia lobby in Moscow the territory of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic was lessened to 5,3 thousand km2 because of groundless land claim of Armenia and piece by piece the lands were annexed (1924, 1928, February 1929, May 1969) which was 6 thousand km2 during Moscow (1921, March 16) and Gars (1921, October 13) treaties signing.  

         Karki village of Sadarak region of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic underwent a complete economic blockade in 1991 by the Armenia Republic who started an injustice war against Azerbaijan and was occupied by Armenians on January 19, 1990. During the war the population of one settlement and 3 villages became displaced from their hearth lands.





Nakhchivan in the

foreign media


Weather forecast
Nakhchivan -14        -4°C
Sharur -14        -5°C
Babak -14        -4°C
Ordubad -12        -5°C
Julfa -12        -5°C
Kangarli -14        -5°C
Shahbuz -17       -6°C
Sadarak -17       -6°C
Rate of exchange



1.8311 AZN 
EUR - 1.9659 AZN 
GBP - 2.2728 AZN
RUB - 0.0307  AZN  




  ©2004 - 2008 Copyright, Nakhchivan.az All Rights Reserved